The Preakness - All Access Sporting News

Special Report

Updated January 28, 6:37 AM   CT


The Preakness

The Preakness Stakes

What: The 144th running of the Preakness Stakes, the second leg of the Triple Crown. The race, which is 1 and 3/16 miles, features 3-year-old thoroughbreds.

Where: Pimlico Race Course

May 19, 2019

Wacky start to Preakness - Bodexpress throws jockey

    War of Will won Saturday’s Preakness Stakes, but Bodexpress -- a horse that finished out of the money – was the story everybody was talking about.

Bodexpress threw his jockey immediately after leaving the gate – and ran riderless - the rest of the way.  At one point he caught up with the pack during the big event at Baltimore’s Pimlico Race Course.

“You've got to be careful because some of them try to win,” legendary trainer Bob Baffert told the AP3 about such runaway horses. “I've had horses that try to win. They actually run a great race sometimes.”

Although it doesn't usually happen in a Triple Crown race, this isn't the first time a horse has thrown his rider.

''I've seen everything. I've seen that, yeah, of course,'' Baffert said. ''I had one that did it. I was a heavy favorite a while back that did it. I never had one before and it happened to me this year. I thought I'd seen everything.''

Veteran jockey John Velazquez wasn’t hurt when he took the fall. After the race, Velazquez spoke about what happened.

“When the doors opened, I was off right from the start. He kind of jumped sideways,” Velazquez said. “I had my feet out of the irons so I lost my balance then, I went off.

"When you come in here to a big race and then things like this happen with the horses, it's disappointing," Velazquez said.

Video on NBC appeared to show a handler inside the gate still in contact with Bodexpress when the gate opened, possibly explaining why the horse bucked. The handler is seen gesturing in frustration at the bad start.

2019 Preakness Stakes Results, Payouts

Win: No. 1 War Of Will (6-1)

Place: No. 10 Everfast (25-1)

Show: No. 5 Owendale (7-1)

Bodexpress was placed last and officially gets a did-not-finish.

Staff - All Access Sporting News

Source: AP; NBCSports; AASNSports; AASNNews

The Preakness Stakes or what is often called "The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans" is the second-leg of horse racing’s “Triple Crown.” The event is always held on the third Saturday in May and takes place Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.

Race Location

Pimlico Race Course Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Inaugurated: 1873

Race Type: Thoroughbred

Race Information

Distance: 1-3/16(9.5 furlongs)

Track: Dirt, Left-handed

Qualification: 3-year-old

Weight: Colt/Gelding: 126 lb (57.2 kg)

Filly: 121 lb (54.9 kg)

Purse: US$1 million

Number of Horses In Race

The field is limited to 14 horses.

List of Triple Crown winners

1919 Sir Barton

1930 Gallant Fox

1935 Omaha

1937 War Admiral

1941 Whirlaway

1943 Count Fleet

1946 Assault

1948 Citation

1973 Secretariat

1977 Seattle Slew

1978 Affirmed

2015 American Pharoah

Sports, Adventure, Health, Fitness, Travel, and even more Sports, right here!  Follow us @AASNSports on all social media platforms. You'll always find something interesting to talk about every time you visit!

All Access Sporting News is not a gambling site. All information provided by this website is for news and entertainment purposes only. 

We are always looking for new products to review for our readers. Got something you want us to take a look at? Contact us!

Powered by SmugMug Log In