25 named to Walter Payton Award watch list - All Access Sporting News



August 1, 2019

25 named to Walter Payton Award watch list

    A preseason watch list of 25 players was announced for the 2019 STATS FCS Walter Payton Award on Wednesday.

It included at least one player from all 13 FCS conferences.

The Walter Payton Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding offensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) of college football as chosen by a nationwide panel of media and college sports information directors.

It was first awarded in 1987, has watched past winners such as Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp move on to the NFL.

Named to this year's preseason watch list were:

Tyrie Adams, Western Carolina, QB, R-Sr., 6-2, 180

Troy Andersen, Montana State, ATH, Jr., 6-3, 215

Kenji Bahar, Monmouth, QB, R-Sr., 6-3, 190

Eric Barriere, Eastern Washington, QB, R-Jr., 6-0, 200

Michael Bandy, San Diego, WR, Sr., 5-11, 190

Grant Breneman, Colgate, QB, Jr., 6-1, 220

Case Cookus, Northern Arizona, QB, R-Sr., 6-4, 205

Zerrick Cooper, Jacksonville State, QB, R-Jr., 6-4, 230

Tom Flacco, Towson, QB, R-Sr., 6-1, 208

Chase Fourcade, Nicholls, QB, Sr., 6-0, 190

A.J. Hines, Duquesne, RB, Sr., 5-11, 225

Cade Johnson, South Dakota State, WR, R-Jr., 5-10, 175

Noah Johnson, Alcorn State, QB, R-Sr., 6-0, 195

Reed Klubnik, Yale, WR, Sr., 6-3, 200

Jake Maier, UC Davis, QB, R-Sr., 6-0, 200

Caylin Newton, Howard, QB, Jr., 6-0, 195

Bryce Nunnelly, Chattanooga, WR, Jr., 6-2, 190

Aaron Parker, Rhode Island, WR, Sr., 6-3, 191

Josh Pearson, Jacksonville State, WR, R-Sr., 6-4, 205

James Robinson, Illinois State, RB, Sr., 5-10, 220

Shane Simpson, Towson, RB/RS, R-Sr., 5-9, 200

Nathan Stewart, Sam Houston State, WR, Sr., 6-0 180

Charlie Taumoepeau, Portland State, TE, Sr., 6-3, 245

Adam Trautman, Dayton, TE, R-Sr., 6-6, 253

De'Shawn Waller, Alcorn State, RB, Sr., 5-10, 210

More players can join the watch list during the 2019 season. A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the winner following the regular season.

Also this season, STATS will present the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.



Ran DeBord - All Access Sporting News

Some content sourced and verified from:  AASNSports; AP; StatsLLC


More College Football HERE  πŸ‘ˆ 🏈

NFL News

More NFL news HERE πŸ‘ˆ 🏈

 Travel and Adventure News

Health News

Golf News

More Golf newsHEREπŸ‘ˆπŸŒπŸ»β€β™‚οΈβ›³οΈ

More College Football News

More College Football HERE  πŸ‘ˆ 🏈

Thursday Night Football

Sunday Night Football

Monday Night Football

More NFL news HERE πŸ‘ˆ 🏈

More Health News

More Health News HERE πŸ‘ˆ πŸ’ͺπŸ½πŸ§˜πŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ

More Travel and Adventure βœˆοΈπŸ§—πŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ

More Travel and Adventure HERE πŸ‘ˆβœˆοΈπŸ§—πŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ

More Golf news

Amen corner

More Golf newsHEREπŸ‘ˆπŸŒπŸ»β€β™‚οΈβ›³οΈ

AllAccessSportingNews HOME 🏠

Sports, Adventure, Health, Fitness, Travel, and even more Sports, right here!  Follow us @AASNSports on all social media platforms. You'll always find something interesting to talk about every time you visit!

All Access Sporting News is not a gambling site. All information provided by this website is for news and entertainment purposes only. 

We are always looking for new products to review for our readers. Got something you want us to take a look at? Contact us!

Powered by SmugMug Log In